January 17, 2014

Libertarian-Anarch LAVA Book Awards call for Entries

January 17, 2014. Lancaster, NH. It’s time for the fourth annual LAVA Awards – an award for books written in the populist light for both fiction and non-fiction categories. LAVA stands for Libertarian, Agorist, Voluntaryist, and Anarch Association of Authors and Publishers. The group was started in 2010 to assist grassroots writers and publishers promote their works.

Entries for the 2014 LAVA book awards are due April 15, 2014.

‘The LAVA Awards occur annually and are open to all books that were published or republished in the last 10 years,’ the organization’s call for entries details, ‘The LAVA Awards are designed to recognize and reward books written or published by Libertarian, Agorist, Voluntaryist and/or Anarch authors or publishers…The LAVA Book Awards are held annually to honor excellence in books relating to the principles of liberty.’

About the LAVA Awards

According to the award’s website, ‘LAVA was founded in November 2010 with a mission “to assist the membership with promoting their books and other published material” with membership open to all who identify as Libertarian, Agorist, Voluntaryist and/or Anarch.’ The association of authors and publishers has steadily grown, with the award now in its fourth year.

Authors may nominate their own books for the LAVA Award. But LAVA members and judges aren’t allowed to judge their own works. Past years have seen awards given for fiction, non-fiction, written book of the year, and artwork book of the year. In 2013, ‘Libertania: The Liberation of California’ won the Lysander Spooner Book of the Year award. Written by Brian Lobb and illustrated by Chet Taylor, the work also won the award in the artwork category.



Order your own copy of the 2013 LAVA Awards Book of the Year, 'Libertania: The Liberation of California.'


How to enter

The LAVA Award’s call for entries for 2014 gives authors and publishers until April 15, 2014 to submit entries. The cost to enter is $45 and entrants must include three copies of the book they are nominating. ‘Each category will be awarded a winner and multiple finalists,’ the entry form says, ‘Individual press awards will also be awarded. Registration automatically qualifies the book for the Lysander Spooner Award for best book (regardless of category or class) and the Charles Angrand Award for best artwork.’

2014 LAVA Award winners will be announced in June on Peace, Love and Liberty radio. All books submitted for judging will either be donated to libraries or given out at the annual Porcupine Freedom Festival in New Hampshire.

For more information and to obtain an Award submission form, visit LAVA-APA.org.

For more information about last year’s LAVA Award winners, read the 2013 Whiteout Press article, ‘Book Libertania wins dual Book Awards’.


Recent Whiteout Press articles:

Is Dennis Rodman working for the CIA in North Korea?

Feds order 14 million anti-Radiation Tablets

The Chart that proves Stock Market about to Crash

Liberty Legal’s Van Irion announces Candidacy for TN Judge